Author Topic: get_iPlayer trouble....  (Read 180 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Janaru

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18,364
    • View Profile
get_iPlayer trouble....
« on: June 27, 2017, 09:04:28 AM »
Hey, guys. Is anyone else having trouble using the links on get_iPlayer?  I've used them many, many times before without issues. The last time was probably a month or so ago. Now? No go.

Did I miss an update or new procedure or something? Any help would be greatly appreciated. :)
Note to self:  Use your powers for good, not for evil.....

Offline Ed

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
Re: get_iPlayer trouble....
« Reply #1 on: July 03, 2017, 03:25:31 PM »
I have started a new thread in the main forum, which might assist you -

  https://forum.beebotron.org/index.php?topic=66093.msg66363


I can't specifically address the point about get_iplayer, but there have been some big changes on the BBC website in the last week, which the get_iplayer developers will not yet have had enough time to solve.


« Last Edit: July 03, 2017, 03:28:14 PM by Ed »

Offline Janaru

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18,364
    • View Profile
Re: get_iPlayer trouble....
« Reply #2 on: September 29, 2017, 07:49:21 PM »
Thanks, Ed. :)
Note to self:  Use your powers for good, not for evil.....

Offline Ed

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 119
    • View Profile
get_iPlayer
« Reply #3 on: October 07, 2017, 01:30:57 AM »
Just a brief update to this thread.

I've recently been using get_iPlayer myself, with both radio and tv. Any problems there may have been earlier in the year seem to have been resolved, as it's currently working successfully.

I'm using v3.02, the latest version for Windows (see https://github.com/get-iplayer/get_iplayer/wiki/windows). I'm running Windows 7 on a laptop.

It is NOT necessary to sign-in to the BBC website. The program can access radio or television without signing in: this is one of the big advantages of using get_iPlayer. As yet, this is the only way to access tv without signing in that I've found.


I use these settings in a batch file (get_iplayer.bat) to access tv  -

Code: [Select]
SET pid=b0077lhk
SET progname=Sgt Wilsons Little Secret
SET get_iplayer="C:\Program Files (x86)\Get_iPlayer\get_iplayer.cmd"
%get_iplayer% --pid=%pid% --info --streaminfo --force >> "Prog Info - %progname%.txt"



Code: [Select]
::  TV Channel
SET channel=BBC Two

::  TV Show
SET show=Sgt Wilsons Little Secret

::  Program Location
SET get_iplayer=C:\Program Files (x86)\Get_iPlayer\get_iplayer.cmd

"%get_iplayer%" --get "%show%" --type=tv --tvmode=good --channel="%channel%"  --file-prefix="<nameshort><-senum><-episodeshort>" --output "C:\Users\%username%\Downloads" --force & cmd /k










« Last Edit: October 07, 2017, 01:40:15 AM by Ed »

Offline Janaru

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18,364
    • View Profile
Re: get_iPlayer trouble....
« Reply #4 on: October 12, 2017, 06:17:10 PM »
Oh, my God, thank you, Ed! <3 
Note to self:  Use your powers for good, not for evil.....

Offline Janaru

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18,364
    • View Profile
Re: get_iPlayer trouble....
« Reply #5 on: Yesterday at 01:24:46 AM »
I have zero idea what I'm dong over there.

The previous version I downloaded, more or less, did it all for me. This time, I don't even know if I'm downloading the correct files. It acts like it's installing, but no icons on my desktop as in previous downloads.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. :)

(I'm using Windows 10)
Note to self:  Use your powers for good, not for evil.....

Offline Janaru

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 18,364
    • View Profile
Re: get_iPlayer trouble....
« Reply #6 on: Yesterday at 02:07:21 AM »
Okay...I think I've figured it out. The Lord watches over fools and children. ;)
Note to self:  Use your powers for good, not for evil.....